Our next destination!

Ben and I are very excited to announce that we will be headed back to Alaska in August! We signed a contract to work for Lake and Peninsula School District and are headed to Pilot Point, Alaska. It’s just above the Aleutian Islands. Pilot Point (PIP) is going to be a lot different then my experience in Stebbins, which makes me evenpilot_point_mapmore excited!! A few things that will be different include the following:

  1. Population: Stebbins – around 500, PIP – around 70
  2. Students: K-12 Stebbins- 150, PIP- 14.
  3. Teaching styles: Stebbins, guided teaching a lot like we have here in Idaho, PIP- Standards based teaching, which is not teaching by grade level but instead where they are in the standards, and they are graded on their mastery level of the standard. Which is completely new for me but I’m very excited to learn and figure it out. 
  4. Weather : Stebbins- highs of 60 lows -40 with windchill factor Plus lots of snow and ice, Pilot Point- highs around 70, lows in the teens.

 

Most importantly: Ben will be with me in PIP!!! It’s going to be so amazing to have him there with me! I honestly don’t think I would be able to go to Alaska alone again for the entire school year. 3 months was hard not having Ben there with me. Ben will also be working. The school year has offered him a full time job as well which was one of my main priorities when signing to a new school district. There were several things that I “wanted” when I was looking at new schools and school districts but always at the top of the list was being able to go to a place where Ben could work for the school, or work in the community. I just knew that no matter how great it would be to experience Alaska together, if he wasn’t working he would be going insane with in a few months. There’s only so much you can do in a Bush Village. We also will be taking Zoey and Bella (our dogs, lab & pug), which I’m excited about too! I’ll admit I’m very nervous about them flying and how we are going to arrange everything but I think it will be great in the long run! So there you have it! There is our new home!

 

Leave a Reply

