Sewing my first Quspuq!

It’s Spring Break here in Stebbins, and the first thing a few teachers and I planned was making out own Quspuq, or Kuspuk. A Quspuq, kuspuk is the traditional Yupik overshirt type garment worn by both men and women.  Men tend to wear them primarily for ceremonial occasions, but for women they are everyday wear.

imagesimages

I went to my first native dance and everyone had one, plus most of the teachers wear them on Fridays. So of course I wanted one! I bought the fabric when I was in Anchorage and have held onto it till now waiting for the time to do it. Since several of us teachers weren’t going anywhere for spring break we thought this was perfect timing!

Here are pictures of me and a few others sewing their Kuspuks. It was mainly 3 of us making new Kuspuks while others just helped and taught us.

My Kuspuk (Quspuq) isn’t as traditional as most, but these days most of them don’t follow the traditional patterns. They are more creative and more fun! So of course I had to make mine a lot more fun and creative! I think it fits my personality perfect!! What do you think? How did we do?

Leave a Reply

