Spring is here! Well Spring for Alaska

It is officially spring break here! And for Alaska…its starting to feel like spring. Every day the sun is staying up longer, and rising earlier. When I first arrived in January, the sun set around 4:30pm, and didn’t rise until almost 11am. Now it’s coming up around 8:30 am and setting around 7:30/8pm. The days are also getting warmer. It’s been in the high 20’s and the sun is shining bright. The other day it was just beautiful, so another teacher an I took a walk.

Since it was such a beautiful day, I feel like the sun was giving us a touch of bravery…we decided to walk out onto the ocean! The ocean is completely frozen for miles right now, but the locals tell me since its warm earlier then usual, it might start thawing out. This was a new experience for both of us! (She never dared to walk out on it either). It was a very cool experience to think that we were about a mile out onto the ocean, then to look back at the village from where we were at, was an experience on it’s own. You can see in the pictures that there are tracks. People drive their snow machines out onto the ocean/ice across to an island. Some locals have wood stoves, and the island is pretty much the only place that has wood. It was a cool experience to say the least!

Here are a few pictures from the walk.

 

3 thoughts on “Spring is here! Well Spring for Alaska”

  1. I’ve been enjoying your blog! My family and I are moving to Stebbins in July, and your blog has been a great resource. I went to Boise State and taught in Meridian, so we’ll have some Idaho pride up there. 😀 I look forward to meeting you.

    Betty

    Like

    1. Betty- You have made a great choice! The Stebbins staff is like a family and each one is just amazing! Sadly, I’m headed home. I took a job with another district and wont be in Stebbins next year. I do plan on coming and visiting though next year so hopefully we’ll meet then! I’m glad my blog has helped you, I started it hoping it could help someone with their research. I know I’m a nerd and looked for any information I could find before coming up. If you have any questions let me know! Good luck in the fall!!

      Like

      1. Mellisa,
        Good luck with your move and your new job! Thanks so much for blogging. You have provided us with valuable insights, and your words have been a comfort to us. : )

        Betty

        Like

Leave a Reply

