What they don’t tell you….

So I am a nerd at heart. I love to do research, and if I question anything, I immediately start finding out what I need to know. So of course when I set my heart on going to Alaska I  immediately looked at websites, blogs and anything I could get my hands on to learn about the new state I was moving too! Of course I learned the usual: it’s cold, you need good winter clothes, a camera for your views, and a little about the culture.

There were a few things that I didn’t learn until I got here. So if you are thinking about moving to Alaska then here are the things that I learn once I lived here a few weeks.

  1. The weather is so dry!! You need moisturizer for EVERYTHING!! I recommend getting a good face moisturizer, some body lotion, and most importantly a good shampoo for dry scalp. I know when you think of Alaska the last thing you want to think is how itchy and dry your scalp will be but take my word! It’s needed!!! I recommend Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle. It’s amazing!! You can feel it working the moment you was and it makes my hair super silky soft! I’m not big on the organic craze but I know a lot are so you’ll be happy to know it’s all organic. It’s main ingredients are tea tree oil, eucalyptus, lavender, and peppermint. Also a positive…it has tea tree oil, which is said to keep lice away. Again something people don’t talk about in Alaska. tea trea
  2. If your living in a village then bed bugs, and lice are a common thing. We have lice in Idaho so it’s not that big of deal, but here it’s a little more serious. We place the kids items in black trash bags as a precaution. For this again I recommend anything with Teat Tree oil. Tea tree oil has always been a secret for teachers to put a few drops in their daily shampoo but why do that when you’ll need a good shampoo anyway. I also recommend the body wash. One of the big things though….you can’t let it scare you!! I can’t imagine not getting the biggest hugs from my students just because I was scared of a little bug! These kids are wonderful and they love you!
  3. Basketball is the major past time around here!! The school gym opens up after school to the village and the only thing that is done there is Basketball!! I didn’t realize how big it was before I came up. I’ve never been a huge basketball fan, but since the first week I was here I’ve spent every weekend watching basketball. The  whole village comes to watch the games. I have slowly became a basketball fan. So I have decided to make me a cheat sheet to understand it a little more. Like I said in the beginning of this post…when I don’t understand something, I do my research!IMG_2515[1]
  4. Waking up is hard to do!! When the sun doesn’t rise till 9:30ish then it sure makes waking up at 7 hard to do. I knew that the sun not rising, or in the summer not setting was a factor. But no ones tells you what it does to your sleep cycle. One thing I know when I officially move-move then I’ll need to buy a happy light that wakes me up in the morning. You can buy curtains and window shades to block out the light when the sun never sets but the sun not coming up it harsh! happy light alarmOk, I’m going to end this post for now. I’m sure there will be a million other things that I realize I wish my research would have told me. But for now this is enough 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

