Welcome to Stebbins!

Ok so now you know a little about my time in Anchorage it’s time to hear about me coming to my village…Stebbins, Alaska! I first left Anchorage on Monday the 25th for Stebbins. We boarded on a decently sized plane…I wanna say 12-14 seater. We took that plane to Unalakleet, which is where the school district office is. We went into their tiny 1 room airport and got our stuff to be loaded on our next plane which was only a 5 seater. We then flew to St. Michael’s (our next door neighbor) then quickly flew to Stebbins. I know everyone is wondering what I thought of the Bush planes….well…they weren’t bad at all!! Infact I actually liked it because they fly closer to the ground so I got to see the most incredible views! It was so pretty! And because the weather was pretty good there was only a little turbulence. So I actually liked riding on them!

Once we got off the plane it was beautiful…and windy! Holy cow that wind cuts right through you! While the pilot was unloading our stuff, I took a couple photos by our little plane.

 

This week at the village has been fun. I haven’t had the chance to really go experience the village much because my warm winter clothing was on its way via the postal service. So I’ve only taken a few photos. The few pics you see that are solid white…yeah that’s the ocean! Right now it’s so frozen you can walk really far out on it I guess…but I saw a lot of cracks so I don’t plan on doing that! Even with my winter clothes (that just came in the mail friday)

But this weekend was the Village Dance festival. It was so amazing to see them in their Quspaq (Pronounced Kuspuk)and traditional attire.

image12

Not to mention the little village girls were so adorable! They thought I looked like Elsa from Frozen on friday because my hair was braided to the side (See pic below). It was pretty cute! Not to mention they are so stinking cute! One of my favorite things that I have learned as a custom here is that the natives don’t use the words yes or no a lot instead they raise their eyebrows for yes, and crinkle their noses for no. It really is cute when the little girls do it! I definitely don’t feel as cool when I do it as they look. 😉 So when I come home if you asked me something and I just raise my eye brows then you know I’m saying yes, or crinkle my nose for no. Ok I expect you all to remember that.

 

One of the other things I experienced was some custom native food. There was actually nothing to crazy. In the picture below you’ll see the food. In the bowl was moose stew. It was good but very oily. Then we had salmon, haring, lentils & Spinach, Duck roast, and a Salmon that was done like a tuna salad. Not sure what it was called but it was really good! The only things I wasn’t the biggest fan of was the stew (do to it being oily) and the duck. I’m not saying I hated them and wouldn’t eat them again. They just wasn’t my favorite.

image13

Ok Well that is it for now! I promise from here on out I will do better at keeping you all updated!

Love, Mellisa

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Welcome to Stebbins!”

Leave a Reply

